Council Chooses New Chair And Vice Chair

Council Chooses New Chair And Vice Chair

Sunday 18th Aug 2019

Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies, who represents the Trefnant ward, has been elected as Chairman of Denbighshire County Council for the next 12 months.

His chosen charities for the year will be breast cancer and prostate cancer causes.

Councillor Davies  is replacing Councillor Peter Scott of St Asaph, whose twelve month term in office has come to an end.  During a ceremony at County Hall, Ruthin today (Tuesday), Councillor Scott presented a cheque for £14,500 to St Kentigern’s Hospice,  his chosen charities for the year.

Laura Parry from St Kentigern’s Hospice, who was present at the meeting, said: “I would like to offer a big heartfelt thank you to the Council for its continued support. There is a lot going on at the Hospice, as we are part way through a major £3 million expansion that will help further support our communities.

“Our work cannot be possible without the on-going support of organisations like the Council and we are extremely honoured to be receiving this massive amount- it will make a huge difference”.

Meanwhile, the new Vice Chair for the Council for the next 12 months will be Councillor Alan James of Rhyl.



Posted on Tuesday 14th May 2019